Mapping your e-learning students, guests or collaboration teams

I herald from the days of Frappr (back in 2005), which used Google Maps for groups of people and incorporated their photos in a set of points which map their physical location. I suppose this was the earlier version for geotagging people and images 🙂

Given the shrinking internet world and ease of collaborating across countries via social media and industry networking sites such as LinkedIn, it is good to have a visual on where your network lives.

MyGuestmap (http://www.mapservices.org/myguestmap/) is the tool of Bing search choice to do this task, so I have registered and created a Tracie Regan Consulting Guestmap you are welcome to pin to 🙂

Note I have put Australia in the middle of my map.  This was easily done by setting the centre of my map’s longitude to 133 E and latitude -27 S.

You can also set read-only type maps for instructional purposes.  Great for visual learners.  Even better to show where the 1,000 e-learners of your new MOOC are. (MOOC= Massive Online Open Course)

 This tool would even be good for my sustainability class to visually show the 11 countries whose resources are used to make one can of cola (you can read about this by downloading our class hand-out https://www.dropbox.com/s/uflzu6boanbft4u/WBI_BSBSUS201A_Can_of_Cola.pdf )

guestmap image

guestmap image